For the first time in my life I am Pregnant

I cannot believe it, in fact I could hardly comprehend the word ‘positive’ when the nurse rang me on Tuesday.  My Husband had come home to work so we could be together for the call, but in my mind he was really there to be with me to grieve, cry, get angry etc.  I was so sure I was not pregnant.  I have had so many disappointments and I guess I am used to them now.  It took my mind a little time to get my head around a positive result.  For us this is a major hurdle to overcome, to fall pregnant for the first times means that we can be pregnant (if you know what I mean).  After our second round of IVF we spoke with our DR who told us that in the future we may need to consider an egg donor, or an alternative like adoption because of my high number of ‘abnormal’ (his words not mine, not very nice!!) eggs.  So with a total of 43 eggs removed across all 3 rounds of IVF and only 4 c grade fertilisations occurring, nothing to ever freeze…not falling pregnant was where my head was at. 

So, now I move on to the anxieties of the waiting game, and getting through other milestones such as 6 weeks, 8 weeks, 12 weeks etc.  I started googling miscarriage stats for grade c transfers, but found nothing, and to be honest shouldn’t do it to myself.  Why do we do this to ourselves.

Anyway happy for now, through a major hurdle of hope.  Cross fingers all goes to plan. 

We all deserve the very best of luck! 

14 thoughts on “For the first time in my life I am Pregnant

Leave a comment